Cognition & Reality

Friday, 25 February 2011

The Fruits Of Action

Filed under: Attachment,Perennial Philosophy — drtone @ 1:21 pm

I have no desire at all for the fruits of action. Sri Krishna: Bhagavad Gita IV

The consistency that makes my story understandable and believable is an illusion designed to maintain the coherence of an ego required to give an account of itself. My story about myself happens to me as I move from the past into the future. The value of the story depends upon my identification with the central character, me, and upon my attachment to the story’s “plot,” as I win or lose, attain happiness, or sink into sorrow. Subjective consciousness is not real. The idea of self, the idea of mind, the idea of the  physical world, the idea of the psychological world, all these are illusions. There is nothing novel in such a view, which has been held and developed for millennia by Eastern sages: I am a story I tell myself. Attachment to the fruits of my actions is, therefore, little more than a dream, because the “I” or ego who is the central character is an illusion, as is the timeline through which the ego moves.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

