Cognition & Reality

Monday, 10 January 2011

The Shooting And Propaganda

Filed under: Uncategorized — drtone @ 4:46 pm

Now that I’ve been reminded by a couple of daze of paying attention to the news because of the Giffords shooting how painful it is for me to read or think about the news, this will be my last politics-related post. I wept yesterday when I accidentally tuned in to “Meet the Press” yesterday morning and they were discussing the shooting of Rep. Giffords and others in Tucson, a town in which I have spent considerable time. For as long as I could stand it,  I watched “talking heads” for the first time in a long time.

I saw how the Republicans had chosen to deflect, with reference to the derangement of the shooter, the question of whether their own rhetoric had fueled the shooting. Today, it’s pretty clear they’ve won the propaganda battle over this issue, with the President and others decrying the vitriolic rhetoric on “both sides,” during the current “dark times.” Never mind that the Republicans have been ratcheting up hatred of the President and “liberals” since before the previous presidential election and especially since the so-called “health-care debate.” Never mind that Giffords’s rival in the last election invited his supporters to shoot off assault rifles with him. Never mind the rage and bigotry central to the appeal of the TEA Party. All the Republicans had to do was claim that the Left was cruel to W and that Obama said, “If they bring a knife, we’ll bring a gun…” In doing this, they demonstrated the great value of being prepared, of having already established that liberals are mean, too, as well as the total gutlessness of every Democratic politician of note, including the President.

On a personal note, I’m hoping that I can rise above this  “dark time of division,” or whatever it is, and stop thinking about the whole thing. Otherwise, I’ll fucking drive myself crazy.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

