Cognition & Reality

Saturday, 30 October 2010

Going There

Filed under: Basic Goodness,Emotion,Psychotherapy — drtone @ 4:05 pm

Sometimes, you’ve just got to go into those bad feelings, remembering that they happen anyway. Of course, it’s possible to numb out, stopping consciousness of sadness and shame. Unfortunately, numbing either doesn’t stop the feelings from continuing, or it actually intensifies them by adding fuel to the fire.

These days, I’m worried and feeling embattled because of my relatively high PSA score, and because of knowing that next week I go in for a urology appointment, at which I expect them to put me in the prostate cancer pipeline, notorious for its inefficacy. I can watch all the TV I want, surf the Web, talk on the phone, write emails, see other doctors, and distract myself with food, but the fear and edginess remain. I might as well sink into them.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

