Cognition & Reality

Friday, 29 October 2010

The Tip Of The Iceberg: A Blessing

Filed under: Basic Goodness,Emotion,Perennial Philosophy,Psychotherapy — drtone @ 9:12 am

I may have written about this before. I’m not sure. In any case, it’s worth pointing out that we tend to disparage the “tip of the iceberg” in favor of the seven-eighths, or whatever it is, that’s underwater, although without the tip of the iceberg, we wouldn’t know that the rest of it is there. If I’m grumpy, and it’s “really’ because I’m grieving my mother’s death earlier this year, the grumpiness is a mere symptom (“tip”) of an underlying issue (the rest of the “iceberg”). Nevertheless, the grumpiness is a token of the whole, and I might not know what’s going on if it were not for my bad mood.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

