Cognition & Reality

Sunday, 19 September 2010

Mind & Penis

Filed under: Perennial Philosophy,Radical Constructivism,Sex & Love — drtone @ 4:09 pm

I have been more than usually aware lately of what it means to say that I am not my mind. It’s is easy to confuse the contents of the mind, and the identity constructed therein with the human self. The reason for this is that the mind is so powerful, first because it is capable of so much, and second because it is capable of creating the illusion that I and it are the same. Piaget showed better than anyone that the mind–and I’m not speaking here of the brain–is an organ projected by and from the human body. It’s an organ not exactly the same as a physical organ, such as the liver or arm, but a mere part of the organism as a whole. I identify with my mind, but I also identify with my penis. I am not either one.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

